The Soul Still Burns: Welcome Back, Blog!

Oh boy, it sure has been some time away, hasn’t it, friends?

For those of you who just followed me here on Soul Charger, it must have been ages! I know I promised to keep up with the 30 in 30 project as well on this site as I did over on Creators, but that ended up being more of a hassle than it was worth, and I didn’t want to split my readership while I was trying to grow it over on a paid platform. Then, when it was announced back in November that the site would be dissolved, I sort of retreated into a full-on writing depression. Thus the nearly three-month hiatus from the web.

BUT YOU CAN’T KEEP A GOOD DOG DOWN!

AreYouReady

Thor: The Dark World [Credit: Marvel Studios]

I’m a relentlessly perky bastard, despite what some might tell you, and I somehow always find myself drawn to a need to write as a creative and personal outlet, so until such time as I’m doing it professionally again, relighting the blog seems as good an answer as any! But what does that mean for you, dear friends and readers?

Well, first of all, in the coming days and weeks, you can expect to see me porting over the various updated and original articles from Creators.co and MoviePilot.com. Luckily we were all sent html slugs well in advance to save our work, and WordPress does a fine job of importing all of that, so hopefully that should be a simple enough task. Some of these will simply be refreshed versions of articles already at home here, while others will be wholly new works which have never been hosted on Soul Charger. This is both to preserve them in the public sphere, as well as to give me a place to route them back to for my portfolios and when teaching from with my students.

Between doing that, I’ll also be injecting some new editorials. I know right off the bat I want to do a long-form review of Birdboy: The Forgotten Children, which I had the pleasure of viewing last week (and was one of the inspirations of coming back to this site). And later this month Fatih Akin’s much-lauded In the Fade will be making its theatrical debut in Nebraska, and as he is one of my favorite directors of all time, you know I’ll be all over that! I also plan to do a critical discussion of Kill La Kill and a few other works, after having extra Netflix viewing time over winter break, and we might even do a new album review once I get my copy of the new Franz Ferdinand release this week!

So there’s a lot of excitement to look forward to in the coming days and weeks here at Soul Charger! The final tally on the 30 in 30 project set us at about 25 entries before Creators petered out, and since I didn’t reach that mark by the end of 2017, I’m sort of wishy-washy about charging headlong into churning the final five out right away. With no pressure on for time or pay, I think it best to make them worth the effort and your readership!

As a final note, I’d like to point out that I’ve started a tip jar over at Ko-Fi.com! It’s a simple service that lets you make donations for roughly the cost of a cup of coffee through a PayPal link. If you like what I do here and want to help me write more, put quality literature in the hands of students, or just say “Thanks!” feel free to drop by https://ko-fi.com/dlarkdesigns and buy me a cup! I’d be very honored!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.